Thursday, April 19, 2012

Caldecott and Newbery Awards

The Caldecott Medal is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children (a division of the American Library Association) to the artist/llustrator of the most distinguished American picture book for children. This medal is named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott.

The Newbery Medal is awarded annually (also by the American Library Association) to the author who makes a significant contribution to American literature for children. This award is named after the eighteenth-century bookseller John Newbery. The purpose of this award is to “encourage original creative work in the field of books for children.”

Very soon you will be seeing reviews of both Caldecott and Newbery winners. Check this column every few weeks for new reviews.
Sites of Interest:

Wednesday, April 18, 2012

April 18, 2012: Question of the Day

NEIFPE has done considerable research on a number of topics regarding education. We have found a huge amount of information, yet this information has led us to ask even more questions.

Here are questions that we think you might want to ask your state legislators,
your school board members, your administrators, and the IDOE:
  • With regard to IREAD, what happens to kids who don't pass?
  • What are your school's plans to handle this?
  • Will the 3rd grade students who do not pass be retained or will they be
    moved to 4th grade?
Get information about how to contact your legislators HERE and HERE.
Contact the Indiana Department of Education HERE.

Click the question mark below to see all our Questions of the Day or click the link in the sidebar.


Tuesday, April 10, 2012

The Importance of Parenting

Children need more than professional educators to be successful in school. Parents need to carry their share of the burden with support and encouragement.

Take a look at this short video of a persevering grandmother.

from The Frustrated Teacher Blog.